Tennessee Hunter Education Requirements
Persons born on or after January 1 1969 must have proof of a valid hunter safety education certification in order to hunt in Tennessee. The minimum certification age in Tennessee is 9 years old. Proof of certification must be on your person at all times when hunting within the state.
Exemptions and Age Restrictions
Persons under the age of 10 do not require a hunter education certificate, and may hunt only if they are under the direct supervision* of an adult who is at least 21 years of age.
The Apprentice Hunting License is available for Tennessee residents 10 years of age and older. This license can be purchased from the TWRA and allows the holder to hunt for up to one year without completing the required hunter education course. The apprentice hunting license can only be purchased once within an individual's lifetime, and expires at the end of the license year. While hunting with an apprentice license, the license holder must be under the direct supervision* of an adult (21 yrs or older) who has completed the required hunter education course.
* "Direct Supervision" means the adult must be in position to take immediate control of the hunting device at all times.
Tennessee Online-Only Course
Tennessee currently offers an online-only hunter education course to resident students who are 21 years of age and older. Students must complete the course, along with all chapter quizzes and the final exam. Once complete, you will print off your Completion Certificate and submit it along with the TWRA field day exemption type 013 permit in order to legally be certified. Your permanent hunter education card will be mailed to you by TWRA.
Tennessee Hunting License
A Tennessee hunting license is required for anyone who hunts game by any method, or assists another person to hunt game. Licenses can be purchased from the TWRA or other distributors across the state - they go on sale on February 18th each year, and are valid until the last day of February on the following year. Fees vary depending on residency, age, and the type of license. Lifetime licenses are available to residents of Tennessee, and these licenses do not expire. For more information on Tennessee Hunting Licenses, please consult the TWRA website at www.state.tn.us/trwa/.
Hunting Permits and Tags
In addition to the required hunting license, you may need to purchase permits or tags depending on the species you are hunting and the area where you are hunting. You can find out more about these requirements when you purchase your hunting license, or you can visit the TWRA website for more information.
Tennessee Hunter Orange Requirement
All big game hunters with firearms must wear at least 500 square inches of Hunter Orange on a head covering and an outer garment above the waist, visible front and back. (Exception: turkey hunters during gun hunts proclaimed by the commission and those hunting on their own property.)
For a more complete listing of Tennessee hunting license laws, hunting regulations, or hunter education requirements, please consult the Tennessee Hunting Regulations, available directly from the Wildlife Resources Agency or on their website at www.state.tn.us/twra/.